Costa Rica Fails Reelection To UN Human Rights Council



COSTA RICA NEWS — Costa Rica failed reelection, not coming up with the two-thirds support from the United Nationals General Assembly needed to keep its seat on the Human Rights Council.

Costa Rica obtained only 120 votes ((129 was needed for reelection) against the 151 obtained by El Salvador, 144 by Bolivia and 139 by Paraguay.

With the failed reelection, Costa Rica will vacate the seat at the end of the year.

The 15 countries elected by the General Assemnly to serve on the United Nations Human Rights Council is for a period of three years beginning on 1 January 2015.

The distribution of seats for the current election was as follows:

  • 4 seats allotted to the African States Group;
  • 4 for the Asia-Pacific Group; 2 for the Eastern European Group;
  • 3 for the Latin American and Caribbean Group; and
  • 2 for the Western European and Other States Group.

The Councils’ outgoing members are: Austria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chile, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Kuwait, Peru Philippines and Romania.

The Council holds regular meetings three times a year, although it can call special meetings if so requested by at least one third of the members.

Those elected today will be joining in the following States who will remain on the Council: Algeria (2016); Argentina (2015); Brazil (2015); China (2016); Côte d’Ivoire (2015); Cuba (2016); Estonia (2015); Ethiopia (2015); France (2016); Gabon (2015); Germany (2015); Ireland (2015); Japan (2015); Kazakhstan (2015); Kenya (2015): Maldives (2016): Mexico (2016): Montenegro (2015); Morocco (2016); Namibia (2016); Pakistan (2015); Republic of Korea (2015); Russia (2016); Saud Arabia (2016); Sierra Leone (2015); South Africa (2016); the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2016); United Arab Emirates (2015); United Kingdom (2016); United States (2015); Venezuela (2015); and Viet Nam (2016).