As of Wednesday the count is up to eight the number of political parties registering for the presidential elections of 2014, with a possible more than twelve enrolling by the closing deadline Friday.

The Tribunal Supremo de Elecciones (TSE) – Supreme Electoral Tribunal- confirms that of the major parties, the  Partido Liberación Nacional (PLN) and del Partido Acción Ciudadana (PAC) have already registered. The  Partido Unidad Social Cristiana (PUSC) and the Frente Amplio are expected to enroll today.

Yesterday, Johnny Araya –  presidential candidate for the PLN –  escorted by his choice for second vice-president, Silvia Lara and the PLN executive committee, was the first to enroll at 10am.

A few minutes before noon, Luis Guillermo Solís of the PAC, arrived at the TSE offices to make his presidential candidacy official.

Later in the day, the Movimiento Libertario, Restauración Nacional, Renovación Costarricense, Nueva Generación, Avance Nacional and the Partido de los Trabajadores, all officialized their enrollment for the February 2014 elections.


  1. Partido Liberación Nacional (PLN) – Johnny Araya
  2. Partido Acción Ciudadana (PAC) – Luis Guillermo Solís
  3. Movimiento Libertario – Otto Guevara
  4. Restauración Nacional – Carlos Avendaño
  5. Renovación Costarricense – Justo Orozco
  6. Nueva Generación – Sergio Mena
  7. Avance Nacional – José Manuel Echandi
  8. Partido de los Trabajadores – Hector Monenstel

Expected to register:

  1. Partido Unidad Social Cristiana (PUSC) – Rodolfo Piza
  2. Partido Acceibilidad Sin Exclusion (PASE) – Oscar Lopez
  3. Partio Patria Nueva – Jose Miguel Corrales (yes, he’s back in)
  4. Frente Amplio – Jose Maria Villalta


Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.