Graphic courtesy of AmeliaRueda.com

The list of cantones that will not apply prohibition during Semana Santa (Holy Week) is growing. As of Friday 16 municipalities have said alcohol sales will continue as normal during Thursday (28) and Friday (29).

Not applying the “ley seca” (dry law) means that consumers can buy alcohol at the supermarket, alcoholic drinks with their meals at restaurants and down a few at the local watering hole, uhm, bar.

Municipalities that say will apply prohibition are:

In San José: Escazú, Aserrí, Mora, Goicoechea, Santa Ana, Alajuelita, Acosta, Moravia, Montes de Oca, Turrubares y Pérez Zeledón.

In Alajuela the municipalities that will have prohibition are: Alajuela, San Mateo, Atenas, Naranjo, Palmares, Poás and Orotina.

In Cartago all cantones will be “dry”.

In Guanacaste and Puntarenas (covering the entire Pacific coast) prohibition will apply only in: Bagaces, Carrillo, Nandayure and Hojancha, Puntarenas, Esparza, Montes de Oro and Golfito.

On the Caribbean side, in the province of Limón, the following municipalities will not allow the sale of alcohol: Limón, Pococí and Siquirres.

No prohibition is expeted in the province of Heredia.

Rafael Arias, advisor to San José mayor Johnny Araya, said no ban is foressen in the single largest municipality in the country.

This year is the first year that municipalities have the power to decide for themselves if there will be prohibition or not. Municipalities have until Wednesday to decide, thus the foregoing list could change.

Prohibition, if applied, is from 12:01am Thursday to 12:01am Saturday of Semana Santa.

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.