Today and Tomorrow are national holidays in Costa Rica. And two days where the “Prohibition” (Ley Seca) still applies in 29 communities across the country.

They are:

San José, Puriscal, Tarrazú, Aserrí, Alajuelita, Acosta, Moravia, Montes de Oca, Turrubares, Atenas, Naranjo, Palmares, Poás, Orotina, Cartago, La Unión, Jiménez, Alvarado, Oreamuno, El Guarco, Heredia, Santa Bárbara, Bagaces, Carrillo, Cañas, Esparza, Belén, Flores and Montes de Oro.

Unlike the past where prohibition applied nationally, now each municipality can decide to let the booze flow or not.

The Cámara Nacional de Turismo – national chamber of tourism, continues to disagree with the measure, because it affects tourism. The chamber would like to see the Ley Seca scrapped completely.

In those communities were there is prohibition, it continues until the midnight Friday. In reality, however, most bars will re-open their doors on Saturday.

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.