Photo: Pablo Montiel, La Nacion
Photo: Pablo Montiel, La Nacion

Seven of the thirteen presidential candidates began their day attending the 7am Sunday Mass at the Catedral Metropolitana.

The seven were: Johnny Araya, of the Partido Liberación Nacional (PLN); Otto Guevara, of the Movimiento Libertario; Luis Guillermo Solís, of the Partido Acción Ciudadana (PAC), of the Rodolfo Piza, del Partido Unidad Social Cristiana (PUSC), José Miguel Corrales, of the Patria Nueva;  Wálter Muñoz, of the Partido Integración Nacional, and José Manuel Echandi, of the Avance Nacional.

According to La Nacion, the candidates in attendance were there on their own, and not by any formal information from the Catholic Church.

The morning sermon by Manuel Villalobos did not touch on the politics of the election, only to ask Costa Ricans to exercise their right and obligation to vote and political leaders of the country to resist the temptation of mediocrity and evil.

Antoher mass will be held at 9am today, which will be presided by Archbishop José Rafael Quirós.

According to the Tribunal Supremo de Elecciones (TSE) – elections tribunal – more than 3 million registered voters,  2.115 voting centres, 20 political parties and 13 candidates for the presidency all taking part in this democratic election.

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.