With the election of legislator Luis Fernando Mendoza, the National Liberation Party (PLN) today resumed control of the Legislature, after two consecutive years that the President of Congress legislators were exercised by opposition political parties.

Mendoza, 51, an economist and legilastor from Guanacaste, won the Presidency of the First Branch of the Republic with 31 votes in his favour:  24 coming from fellow PLN legislators, 3 from the ​​Accessibility without Exclusion Party (PASE), and the rest from ther parties.

With 29 votes in his favour, Carlos Avendaño, legislator for the Restauración Nacional, became the new vice president of Legislature.

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.