Wednesday 1 February 2023

7 Latin American Countries (Including Costa Rica) Had A Woman President Before The U.S.

Paying the bills


Joselyn Chacón admits having paid to “put the hurt on” the media

QCOSTARICA ( The Minister of Health, Joselyn Chacón, affirmed...

Uncovering the Red Tape of Clean Water in Costa Rica

(OP-ED) Imagine having to haul water to your home,...

Do CBD Products Actually Work?

Rumors about the beneficial effects of CBD products have...

Costa Rica’s Minister of Sport assures that it is urgent to legalize recreational marijuana

QCOSTARICA - The Minister of Sport, Mary Munive, asked...

Central Bank intervenes propping up the dollar exchange

QCOSTARICA - The dollar exchange rose slightly, one colon,...

Tourism, exporters and service companies will hire fewer staff with the dollar falling

QCOSTARICA - Tourism, exporters of agricultural goods and service...

The most Popular Sports within Costa Rica     

As it is across the world, sports play a...

Dollar Exchange

¢550.81 Buy

¢558.29 Sell

1 February 2023 - At The Banks - BCCR

Paying the bills


Laura Chinchilla was elected the first woman president of Costa Rica
Laura Chinchilla was in 2010 elected the first woman president of Costa Rica.

Q24N- Hillary Clinton seems to be one step closer to becoming the first woman president of the United States. But more than 60 other countries, including Costa Rica, beat the U.S. to that milestone.

In Latin America (South and Central America and the Caribbean), a total of seven countries (Costa Rica, Brazil, Peru, Chile, Nicaragua, Panama and Argentina) elected its first female president

Here’s a list of ALL the countries that had a woman leader before the U.S.

- Advertisement -

The list is sorted by the date each country elected or appointed its first female head of state (president or prime minister). It does not include acting or interim leaders who were not later elected or confirmed.


  • Australia: Julia Gillard, 2010
  • Costa Rica: Laura Chinchilla, 2010
  • Kyrgyzstan: Roza Otunbayeva, 2010
  • Slovakia: Iveta Radičová, 2010
  • Trinidad and Tobago: Kamla Persad-Bissessar, 2010
  • Denmark: Helle Thorning-Schmidt, 2011
  • Kosovo: Atifete Jahjaga, 2011
  • Mali: Cissé Mariam Kaïdama Sidibé, 2011
  • Thailand: Yingluck Shinawatra, 2011
  • Malawi: Joyce Banda, 2012
  • Slovenia: Alenka Bratušek, 2013
  • Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus: Sibel Siber, 2013
  • Brazil: Dilma Rousseff, 2014
  • Mauritius: Ameenah Firdaus Gurib-Fakim, 2015
  • Namibia: Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, 2015
  • Nepal: Bidhya Devi Bhandari, 2015
  • Taiwan: Tsai Ing-wen, 2016


  • Finland: Tarja Halonen, 2001
  • Indonesia: Megawati Sukarnoputri, 2001
  • Senegal: Mame Madior Boye, 2001
  • São Tomé and Príncipe: Maria das Neves, 2002
  • Peru: Beatriz Merino, 2003
  • Macedonia: Radmila Šekerinska, 2004
  • Mozambique: Luísa Diogo, 2004
  • Germany: Angela Merkel, 2005
  • Ukraine: Yulia Tymoshenko, 2005
  • Chile: Michelle Bachelet, 2006
  • Jamaica: Portia Simpson-Miller, 2006
  • Liberia: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, 2006
  • South Korea: Han Myung-sook, 2006
  • Moldova: Zinaida Greceanîi, 2008
  • Croatia: Jadranka Kosor, 2009


  • Ireland: Mary Robinson, 1990
  • Lithuania: Kazimira Danutė Prunskienė, 1990
  • Nicaragua: Violeta Barrios Torres de Chamorro, 1990
  • Bangladesh: Khaleda Zia, 1991
  • France: Édith Cresson, 1991
  • Poland: Hanna Suchocka, 1992
  • Burundi: Sylvie Kinigi, 1993
  • Canada: Kim Campbell, 1993
  • Rwanda: Agathe Uwilingiyimana, 1993
  • Turkey: Tansu Çiller, 1993
  • Haiti: Claudette Werleigh, 1995
  • Guyana: Janet Rosenberg, 1997
  • New Zealand: Jenny Shipley, 1997
  • Latvia: Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga, 1999
  • Panama: Mireya Elisa Moscoso Rodríguez, 1999
  • Switzerland: Ruth Dreifuss, 1999


  • Dominica: Eugenia Charles, 1980
  • Iceland: Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, 1980
  • Norway: Gro Harlem Brundtland, 1981
  • Malta: Agatha Barbara, 1982
  • Philippines: Corazon Aquino, 1986
  • Pakistan: Benazir Bhutto, 1988


  • Argentina: Isabel Perón, 1974
  • Central African Republic: Elisabeth Domitien, 1975
  • Portugal: Maria de Lourdes Pintasilgo, 1979
  • United Kingdom: Margaret Thatcher, 1979


  • Sri Lanka: Sirimavo Bandaranaike, 1960
  • India: Indira Gandhi, 1966
  • Israel: Golda Meir, 1969

List from CNN Politics, update June 9, 2106. Click here for the original article at CNN.

- Advertisement -
Paying the bills
Avatar photo
"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of online magazines where everything is Q! In these times of new normal, stay at home. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

Related Articles

Joselyn Chacón admits having paid to “put the hurt on” the media

QCOSTARICA ( The Minister of Health, Joselyn Chacón, affirmed on Monday...

Uncovering the Red Tape of Clean Water in Costa Rica

(OP-ED) Imagine having to haul water to your home, or worse,...

Subscribe to our stories

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.