Thursday 17 June 2021

No visa needed to travel to Europe until the end of 2022

QCOSTARICA – Once again, the entry into force of the EU Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), which will force travelers to apply for a visa to enter the European Union, was postponed.

The ETIAS – a U.S. style electronic travel authorization system for visitors from countries that are currently not part of the EU – requirement will now enter into force at the end of 2022 after it was expected to be mandatory starting this month, January 2021.

- Advertisement -

“ETIAS is expected to be operational by the end of 2022. Thanks to ETIAS, authorities will receive vital information necessary to assess potential risks with people traveling to the European Union and, if necessary, a travel authorization could be denied,” states the official statement on the European Union website.

Travelers who currently visit Europe visa-free are able to enter EU and Schengen Member countries cost-free and without any digital security screening prior to their arrival to Europe. ETIAS is not a visa and is more accurately referred to as a visa-waiver.

The ETIAS, like the ESTA, is a travel authorization for travelers not requiring a visa to visit Europe. Under the ETIAS, these visitors will undergo additional security checks prior to being permitted to enter into the EU. The ETIAS will be mandatory for citizens of such countries as the United States, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.

Travel to European countries such as the United Kingdom (UK), Cyprus, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, San Marino, Monaco and the Vatican, will require a visa.

- Advertisement -

Once it enters into force, applicants will be able to submit their visa application through an official website and/or an application. The cost will be 7 Euros, though, it is expected that minors do not have to pay.

The European Commission first presented the ETIAS idea in April 2016 and adopted the proposal on November 16, 2016.

- Advertisement -

We strive for accuracy in its reports. But if you see something that doesn’t look right, send us an email. The Q reviews and updates its content regularly to ensure it’s accuracy.

"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of online magazines where everything is Q! In these times of new normal, stay at home. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

Related Articles

Europe opens the doors to tourism, these are the requirements

Q TRAVEL - Europe opened the doors to tourism. While worldwide...

E.U. Set to Let Vaccinated U.S. Tourists Visit This Summer

BRUSSELS ( - American tourists who have been fully vaccinated against...


Today’s Vehicle Restriction: June 12, “ODDS”

Today, Saturday, June 12, only ODDS can circulate. The measure is countrywide and applied between 5:00 am and 9:00 pm, save for those under the...

Nicaragua’s Foreign Minister absent from the summit of Central American presidents

QCOSTARICA - The Daniel Ortega government sent its ambassador to Costa Rica, Duilio Hernández, as its representative to the summit of Central American presidents...

Vaccine Tourism – A Practical Guide

By Amy Gdala, Guest Contributor - The US has a surplus of vaccines, while Costa Rica is struggling to supply sufficient numbers to citizens...

Diseases, weather and low prices hit the orange sector in Costa Rica

HQ - The appearance of pests and diseases, in particular the 'dragón amarillo' (yellow dragon), the impact of the weather and a sharp drop...

Simple to request certification of vaccines against covid-19 applied in Costa Rica and abroad

QCOSTARICA - The Ministry of Health issued a new guideline on Thursday that establishes the requirements to request the vaccination certificate against covid-19 in...

Informants assisted OIJ in corruption investigations, says the minister

QCOSTARICA - The investigation into alleged bribery of public officials in exchange for contracts for road works, received help from informants within the Consejo...

On Monday the vehicle restriction will change, again

QCOSTARICA - In times of pandemic, things change constantly, especially when it is necessary to tighten the belt to reduce the contagion of covid-19. The...

5.7 Quake jolts Costa Rica

2021-06-10 17:27:0.5, Magnitude: 5.76, Depth 10.0 km, Epicenter: 95.5 km Southwest Malpais de Puntarenas. The jolt was felt also in the Central Valley. No reports...

Today’s Vehicle Restriction June 15: 3 & 4 CANNOT circulate

Today, Tuesday, June 15, vehicles with plates ending 3 & 4 CANNOT circulate The measure is countrywide and applied between 5:00 am and 9:00 pm,...


Get our daily newsletter with the latest posts directly in your mailbox. Click on the subscribe and fill out the form. It's that simple!

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.