Monday 6 December 2021

Bill presented to limit re-election of mayors

Mayors could be in office for a maximum of 8 years consecutive, then wait out one election cycle to be reelected again

Paying the bills


State payroll increased by 100,000 people in 15 years

QCOSTARICA - The State payroll in Costa Rica grew...

Costa Rica becomes an international benchmark for migratory model for labor in the agricultural sector

QCOSTARICA - Costa Rica became an international benchmark due...

Wingo launches international transportation service for pets

Q TRAVEL - For many, traveling with their pet...

Coronavirus: Next pandemic could be worse, warns AstraZeneca creator

A future new pandemic threatens to be "worse" than...

Avenida de Los Cementerios

TODAY COSTA RICA - The next time you're traveling...

Omicron variant still does not cause deaths, but threatens economic growth in various countries

QCOSTARICA - New countries, including Mexico, announced on Friday...

Bar asks the Police for help for anti-vaxx demanding entry without a QR code

QCOSTARICA - A San Jose bar had to resort...
Paying the bills


QCOSTARICA – The government of Carlos Alvarado was quick to respond to the police action on Monday, November 15, which resulted in the arrest of six mayors of major municipalities in Costa Rica, along with seven other municipal officials, for alleged corruption in the contracting of public works.

In the photo, Johnny Araya, long time mayor of San Jose and Carlos Alvarado, President of Costa Rica

Three of the mayors detained, Johnny Araya, Alfredo Córdoba and Alberto Cole, the mayors of San José, San Carlos and Osa, respectively, have more than fifteen years each the helm of their municipal governments.

In the case of Araya, his trajectory at the municipality of San Jose is more than thirty years. Eight presidents have come and gone in the three decades and Araya has remained in the Municipality of San José since 1991 when he took office as municipal executive. In 2013, he temporarily stepped down to make a run in the 2014 elections for President of Costa Rica. As the favored candidate in that election cycle, he lost to Guillermo Solis, bringing him back to the municipality.

- Advertisement -

Read more: Johnny Araya and five other mayors arrested for alleged corruption with road works

As to the others, Córdoba has been in power for 19 years, Cole, 15 years. Arnoldo Barahona has been running things in Escazú for the last 11 years. The other two, Mario Redondo and Humberto Soto, from Cartago and Alajuela, respectively, are the newcomers, have been in office for less than two years.

The bill presented on Monday seeks to reform Article 14 of the Municipal Code, which would establish that municipal leaders could only access one re-election for a maximum period of eight consecutive years.

Read more: Alcade Diamante: the Most Infamous Politician of the ‘Simpsons’

Subsequently, they could run again for office, provided that four years have elapsed (one period in between).

The bill also extends the regulation to vice mayors, councilors, and trustees.

- Advertisement -

Currently, municipal officials can remain in office indefinitely.

The initiative was included in the Congress agenda just hours after the Organismo de Investigacion Judicial (OIJ) arrest of the six mayors.



- Advertisement -
Paying the bills
"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of online magazines where everything is Q! In these times of new normal, stay at home. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

Related Articles

State payroll increased by 100,000 people in 15 years

QCOSTARICA - The State payroll in Costa Rica grew by almost...

Carlos Alvarado achieves the worst rating of his entire term

QCOSTARICA - With only several months to go before he vacates...

Subscribe to our stories

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.