Saturday, 26 September 2020

Italy Hold Nerve to Reach Costa Rica


Italy booked their ticket for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup Costa Rica 2014 after beating England on penalties in the UEFA U-17 Women Championship match for third place.

The two sides battled out a goalless draw, meaning the match – and a place in Costa Rica – had to be settled by a penalty shootout. Enrico Sbardella’s side kept their nerve to triumph 4-3 in Burton-on-Trent.

Italy’s victory saw them reach their first U-17 Women’s World Cup and they join UEFA U-17 finalists Spain and Germany as the European representatives in Costa Rica.

- paying the bills -

FIFA_U-17_Women's_World_Cup_2014_logoThe 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in Costa Rica will be the fourth edition of the tournament since its inception as a competition in 2008.

[quote] On 3 March 2011, FIFA announced that the tournament would be held in Costa Rica. There were six official bids: Costa Rica, Ghana, Macedonia, Russia, United Arab Emirates and Uzbekistan.[/quote]

Hosting rights were originally awarded to Costa Rica,then stripped on 28 February 2013 due to problems in stadium construction.After receiving guarantees from both CONCACAF and the Costa Rican government, they were re-instated as hosts at an executive committee meeting in Zurich on March 21, 2013.

The competition will be played from 15 March to 4 April 2014. The final was originally scheduled on 5 April, but was brought forward one day due to government elections.


- paying the bills -

"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of online magazines where everything is Q! In these times of new normal, stay at home. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

Related Articles

Government’s scare tactic!?!!

The government tries to scare with a "campaign of fear" to...

El Salvador: woman jailed over miscarriage freed

(Q24N) Authorities in El Salvador on Wednesday, September 23, released a...


Costa Rica extends tourist visas until March 2, 2021

(QCOSTARICA) Costa Rica's immigration service, the Dirección General de Migración y Extranjería Costa Rica (DGME) announced today, Monday, September 21, the extension of tourist...

Government fears “very drastic” consequences of not agreeing with the IMF

(QCOSTARICA) The Government affirmed Tuesday night, on a national television broadcast, that the country could face "very drastic" consequences if the agreement with the...

Why is the ‘Aguila’ on its head? The marketing idea that confused Costa Ricans

(QCOSTARICA) You may or may not have noticed by the 'aguila', the iconic eagle logo of the Imperial beer brand, has been seen with...

COVID-19 Costa Rica: 1,338 new cases for Saturday, Sept 19

(QCOSTARICA) The new norm for daily cases is 1000 plus daily and the number of deaths hovering near 20 almost every day. For Saturday, September...

Making the IMF happy!

In this caricature by, we see President Carlos Alvarado tipping the scales to please the International Monetary Fund (IMF) at the expense of...

What are the symptoms of COVID-19?

Some people infected with the virus have no symptoms. When the virus does cause symptoms, common ones include fever, body ache, dry cough, fatigue,...

Let's Keep This Going!

To be updated with all the latest news and information about Costa Rica and Latin America.

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.