A total of 21 new political parties will be seeking registration for the 2014 elections.

Of the 21 that started the registration process to 2014, ten are national parties and the others provincial, according to the Tribunal Supremo de Elecciones (TSE).

Interested parties have until February 1, 2013, to apply.

The national parties:

  1. Nueva Generación
  2. Por la Libertad
  3. Renacer Nacional
  4. SOS
  5. De los Trabajadores
  6. Vanguardia Popular
  7. Centro Democrático y Social
  8. Cambio Total
  9. Avance Nacional
  10. Patria Nueva

The provincial parties:

  1. Nuevo Partido Socialista
  2. Revolucionario de Las y Los Trabajadores
  3. Solidario
  4. Verde
  5. Frente Democrático Campesino
  6. Alianza Demócrata Cristiana de San José
  7. Patria, Igualdad y Democracia
  8. Viva Puntarenas
  9. Poder Popular Puntarenense
  10. Alianza Demócrata Cristiana
  11. Patria, Igualdad y Democracia

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.