Corte-652x300Neither Zarella Villanueva nor José Manuel Arroyo managed to get the 12 votes needed to become president of the Supreme Court. On Monday, the 22 justices voted five times and hinted at the division between those who lead the Judiciary.

Judge Jesus Ramirez, who chaired the session, argues that what happened during the election process is a reflection of the internal division between three generations of judges, vying to take the reins of the Judiciary.

Among three ballots, even null vote were greater that recevied by each candidate.

Arroyo himself argues that there is a lack of leadership and no one can fill the void left by the late Luis Paulino Mora.

The next voting session is next Monday, May 13.

Stay up to date with the latest stories by signing up to our newsletter, or following us on Facebook.