Saturday 18 September 2021

President-Elect Announces First Names of His Cabinet

Paying the bills


What are we celebrating?

QCOSTARICA - From the gallows humor department is the...

Sala IV rejects covid patient’s claim for Caja to pay the cost of a private hospital

QCOSTARICA - A claim made by a family against...

Finally, migrant population in Costa Rica will be vaccinated against covid-19

QCOSTARICA - After complaints raised by migrants because they...

Costa Rica is the Main Exporter of Palm Oil in 2020

QCOSTARICA - In 2020, Costa Rica was the largest...

Uruguay considers allowing tourists to buy marijuana

Q24N - The first country in the world to...

Today’s Vehicle Restriction September 18: “ODD” ending plates CANNOT circulate

QCOSTARICA - Starting today, September 18, we go back...

500 Intel drones illuminated the night of celebration of the Bicentennial of Costa Rica

QCOSTARICA - During the celebration of the Bicentennial of...
Paying the bills



President-elect Luis Guillermo Sol7s on Monday announced the first 21 members of his cabinet.

Celso Gamboa, who will be the Ministro de Seguridad Publica (Minister of Security). Gamboa is currently the director of the Dirección de Inteligencia y Seguridad (DIS), Costa Rica’s intelligence and secret service.

- Advertisement -

Carlos Segnini will head the Ministerio Obras Públicas y Transportes (MOPT) –  the ministry of Public works and Transport.

Helio Gallas, the first vice-president elect, will be the Ministro de Hacienda (Minister of Finance).

Former PAC legislator Sergio Alfaro will run the Instituto Nacionald de Seguros (INS), Costa Rica’s state insurer.

Carmen Muñoz, will thedeputy minister of the Interior (vice-ministra de Gobernación).

Carlos Vargas Quesada will be executive president of the Instituto Mixto de Ayuda Social (IMAS) – social assistance institute that also runs the duty free shops at the aiports.

Alejandra Mora will head the  Instituto Nacional de la Mujer (Inamu) – women’s institute.

- Advertisement -

Melvin Jiménez Marín will be  minister of the Presidency (Ministro de la Presidencia).

Alexander Mora Delgado will head Foreign Trade (the Ministerio de Comercio Exterior).

Carlos Obregón Quesada is named executive president of the Instituto Costarricense de Electricidad (ICE) – state telecom and energy.

Carolina Mauri, Sports Minister (Ministra del Deporte).

- Advertisement -

Edgar Gutiérrez, minister of the Environment (Ministro de Ambiente).

Yamileth Astorga, will head the Acueductos y Alcantarillados (AyA) – water and sewer utility.

Elizabeth Fonseca, Youth and Culture minister (Ministra de Cultura y Juventud).

María E. López is names as Health Minister (Ministra de Salud).

Olivier Castro will be president of the Central Bank, the Banco Central de Costa Rica (BCCR).

Sonia Martha Mora will be the minister of Education.

Victor Morales Mora will head the Labour Ministry.

Welmver Ramos will be Minister of the Economy.

Wilhem Von Breymann Barquero will head the country tourism board, the Ministerio de Turismo.

The balance of his cabinet appointments are expected after Semana Santa.

- Advertisement -
Paying the bills
"Rico" is the crazy mind behind the Q media websites, a series of online magazines where everything is Q! In these times of new normal, stay at home. Stay safe. Stay healthy.

Related Articles

What are we celebrating?

QCOSTARICA - From the gallows humor department is the following meme...

Subscribe to our stories

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.